Only 92 Days Left Until the End of Time!

Whoa! I just realized that this is September 21st!

We’re only three months from the Apocalypse! Time to get busy, I guess. Doing what, I really don’t know.

I remember back in the 70’s (yes, I’ve been around the block more than once), thinking that it was going to be cool to read the novel 1984 in 1984 just to see how accurate Orwell had been in predicting our future.

In hindsight, he got a few things right. The book predicted some social/political trends fairly well, but the world in 1984, at least my slice of it, wasn’t nearly as dark, drab, and foreboding as old George thought it would be. Of course, I’d never been to Detroit.

I’ve never been a big believer in the accuracy of predictions of future events. Take the work of Michel de Nostradamus for instance. Countless books and television shows rave endlessly about his alleged gift of prophecy.

Not so fast, every example of Nostradamus’ power of prophecy involves a true believer identifying some notable event that has occurred in history and then going back and digging through the prophet’s nebulously worded quatrains until one can be found which seems to be referring to the event in question.

Come on now! These are not “Predictions”, they are “Postdictions”.  Just once, I’d like for someone to take one of Nostradamus’ quatrains and truly predict something specific that’ll happen in the future, say, 2020.  If the event occurs, maybe I’d believe that ol’ Michel de might have been on to something after all.

In reality, if I looked long and hard enough, I’m sure that I could find a Nostradamus quatrain which “predicted” my Aunt Sally’s third marriage to that liqueur salesman.

Anyway, you would have to be living under the proverbial rock to not be aware that the Mayan calendar, which was started some 5,000 years ago, supposedly predicts that the “End of Days” will occur on December 21, 2012.

**SPOILER ALERT** – I recently read an article concerning an anthropologist who has been living with and studying those few Mayans who still remain in Mexico and Guatemala.  The anthropologist indicated that, while the present day Mayans are aware of the significance of December 21st in their calendar, they say it’s just a time of “new beginnings”, rather than the end of everything.  Apparently, none of them are over at the flea market in Tegucigalpa selling off all of their possessions at bargain basement prices.

If I had to make a prediction, I’d say that we’ll all probably wake up on the morning of December 22nd and have a cup of coffee.  Granted, once the caffeine kicks in, some of us will undoubtedly be jolted back into reality with the thought, “Holy crap! I’ve only got three days to do all of my Christmas shopping!

What really concerns me is what the History and Discovery Channels are going to do with all of those Mayan Apocalypse documentaries they’ve been running and re-running for the past four or five years?

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

