My Kindle and I


Up until this past January, if asked, I would have described myself as an avid reader. I’ve enjoyed reading since my youth and have from time to time felt an almost visceral need to read a good book if I had not done so in a while.

When that occurs, it’s as if my mind is begging for the exercise of absorbing a good story.

I’ve also always been a bit of a geek when it comes to digital devices; PDAs, smart phones, computers.  But it took a while before I was willing to make the leap from reading real books; you know, the kind with pages made out of paper that you turn with your hand, to the electronic variety which can be read on a digital device.

I first put my toe into the digital reading pond about two years ago when I downloaded e-reader software and read a couple of books on my computer.  I found that I wasn’t a big fan of this style of reading, primarily because it wasn’t always convenient to take my laptop computer along with me in the event that I found myself with time to read a chapter or two.

Then I discovered that Kindle software was available for the iPhone.  Taking my iPhone along with me wherever I went was an absolute no-brainer.  After all, I had already been emotionally, if not physically, joined at the hip to my smart phone for a couple of years.

I managed to read two or three books on my iPhone before I became frustrated with the small screen size and with constantly running the phone’s battery down.  But I was definitely starting to warm up to the idea of electronic reading and I realized that it was time to purchase a Kindle.

I bought my Kindle Touch this past January, which brings me back to my opening statement in which I described myself as an avid reader.  If that was the case before I began reading on the Kindle, I guess I would have to describe myself now as a voracious reader.

Why?  Because in the ten months that I’ve been reading with my Kindle, I’ve read 31 books cover to cover; fiction, nonfiction, history, biography, mystery, sci-fi, you name it.

I’m confident that in my most “avid reader” days, I never knocked off 31 titles in ten months.

Miss Sexton, my 10th grade English teacher, would be simultaneously incredulous and overjoyed to learn of this feat.  I wonder if I can find her on Facebook?

I can’t really put my finger on the difference between reading a traditional book and reading the same book on a Kindle, but for me there just seems to be something effortless about the experience of reading on a Kindle.

One of the more surprising aspects of reading with the Kindle is that I have not missed the physical act of holding a real book and turning the pages by hand as I read.  I very quickly warmed up to using a simple tap or sweep of my finger to turn to the next page.

I was a little concerned about the availability of books for the Kindle, but as anyone who has one can tell you, between the free books available from Amazon and the books that I can check out on-line from my local library system, I’m not worried about having enough to read.

I’m hooked.

3 thoughts on “My Kindle and I

  1. As geeky as I consider myself to be I have not yet tried a Kindle or a E-reader. Sometimes I am overwhelmed with just having a cell phone, iPod, netbook, and camera. I love the feel and smell of books. It’s tempting to try but I’m afraid I just might end up spending too much time with my eyes on that screen. Hard to find a balance in this life.

  2. I received my Kindle as a gift–I would never have purchased one for myself as I had considered any printed volume as sacred. I have been surprised that I have enjoyed my Kindle far more than I would have ever imagined. The only thing I cannot get used to is the percentage read vs. page count. I also miss a good dust jacket. I will never get rid of my physical library but I am rarely without my Kindle.

    • I agree regarding the page count, or lack thereof, in some Kindle books. I wish that publishers would adopt some consistent means of reporting that. I also miss closing a book when I’ve finished it and holding it for a few seconds to think about what I’ve just read. Somehow that brings closure that the Kindle doesn’t provide.

      Thanks for your comments. Good reading!

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

