Halloween, Bah Humbug!

If I could have my druthers, as we say down here, I’d be completely happy to see Halloween disappear from the calendar as a holiday.

I’m happy to report that over the past few years, we’ve experienced a steady decline in the number of kids who have roamed our neighborhood in search of empty calories.  In fact last year, we had none; as in zip, nada, and zilch, come to our house.

I was cautiously optimistic that we would see similar numbers this year, but just in case, I went out and picked up a bag of “Fun Sized” Peanut M&Ms to have available if the need to disburse candy presented itself.

It’s a good thing that I did due to the unprecedented increase in trick or treaters that we experienced last night.

We had two!  Yes two, and I must admit that they were two of the cutest kids I’ve seen in a long time.  A brother and sister act dressed as Buzz Light Year and a Fairy Princess came to our door even before the sun had gone down.

That was it.  The door bell hasn’t been rung since and now I find myself with a mostly full bag of M&Ms.  I can’t just throw them away, can I?  After all, they’re the “Fun Sized” M&Ms.  How can you toss out something so happy as that?

I’ve placed them on a back shelf of our pantry with the intent of only having a bag every now and then with lunch.

At least that’s the plan, but as I was walking away from the pantry after closing the door, I’m almost positive that I heard a chorus of low voices murmuring, “Resistence is futile. We will be assimilated.

4 thoughts on “Halloween, Bah Humbug!

  1. Oh thank goodness – I avoided being negative about Halloween in case it offended my American friends but now I feel I can come out and say that I hate it! When ever else would any parent let their kids knock on a stranger’s door and ask for sweets? It is incomprehensible to me – but then I am an old grouch and proud of it!

    • You are not alone. The day may continue to be celebrated, but the manner it which it’s celebrated seems to be changing here.

      Door to door trick or treating seems to be on the decline, while attendance at parties seems to be on the rise.

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

