Oil Changes, Elections, and Rascal Flatts

It’s election day in America.  Since I’ve already voted, I thought that this would be a perfect day to have the oil changed in my car.

What better way to celebrate our democracy than doing something which stimulates the economy, while at the same time makes my car run better?

I got up early and headed over to the shop that does all of the maintenance on my family’s cars.  It’s one of those businesses that once you’ve found them, you’d never think of taking your business anywhere else.

I’m sitting in the waiting room, listening to Rascal Flatts playing on the radio in the corner.  In between songs, the morning DJs are taking calls from listeners who haven’t decided how to vote.  Then they put two callers on the air together in an attempt to see if they can convince each other of which presidential candidate to support.

So far, they’re striking out.  The prevailing opinion among the callers seems to be that neither presidential candidate speaks for, or represents, their interests.  A common complaint that is not that foreign to my own way of thinking.

Personally, I’m ready for some more Rascal Flatts or maybe some Little Big Town.

The real question currently rolling around in my mind is what I’m going to watch on TV tonight.  More than likely, the answer will come up, “Nothing.”

There was a time when I would have been glued to one of the news channels keeping up with the voting trends until a winner had been projected in all of the important races.

For me, those days are gone.  I’m fairly confident that I know how the presidential race is going to end up.  I haven’t been wrong in several election cycles.  So I’m going to be quite comfortable waiting until tomorrow morning to have my forecast confirmed.

I would tell you now, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise.

God Bless America!

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

