Please Sir, May I Have Some More Status Quo?

Heraclitus of Ephesus

Way back around 470 B.C., the Greek philosopher Heraclitus stated, “Nothing endures but change.”  Ever since then, other writers, thinkers, and just plain ordinary folk have been attempting to pen other words which express that same sentiment, but I’m not sure anyone has ever really improved on ol’ Heraclitus’ original pronouncement on the subject.

By the way, is it just me or does that bust of Heraclitus remind you of “The Most Interesting Man in the World?” – “I may not alway react to change, but when I do, I find it enduring.

I’ve never been particularly resistent to change.  In fact, on the whole, I’ve welcomed the changes that have impacted my life more often than not.  But there does come a point where you just feel like crying “Uncle!” and asking for a respite from the incessant onslaught of revisions, transitions, and vicissitudes which seem to be intent on inundating your peace of mind.

That’s where I find myself at the moment.

Sometimes the sheer number of “opportunities” which change so graciously presents to us can come very close to overwhelming our ability to adequately manage them all.  In recent months, my wife and I have both been dealing with serious illnesses which are effecting both of our fathers.  If you haven’t found yourself in that situation yet, let me tell you that, as any psychologist worth his salt will confirm, it’s a chart topper on the Stress-o-Matic scale.

I’ve always read that relocations, as in moving from one city to another, are heavy duty stress producers as well.  Speaking as a parent, I can tell you that it’s no less stressful when it’s your own child, rather than yourself, who’s doing the relocating.  My youngest son, one of many recent college graduates who have been unable to find work, is leaving home to relocate to Massachusetts to live with his brother in the hope of finding greener employment pastures there.

Not to be outdone by my offspring, I find myself in the middle of transitioning into a new job with a new company.  The process of finding employment in the current economic environment has been a Homeric odyssey of uncertainty all by itself.  Now on top adapting to a new company culture, I’m having to deal with learning my new responsibilities while dusting off old, out-of-practice skills to achieve them.

In spite of it all, I’m confident that there will come a day in the not so distant future when I’ll be able to take a deep breath and say, if to no one other than myself, “Phew!  Got through that, I wonder what’s next?

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

