A Slightly Different Thanksgiving Day

It’s Thanksgiving Day 2012.  Without doubt, I have much to be thankful for and will most certainly be in that mindset throughout the day, but this Thanksgiving Day will be different than any I’ve celebrated in recent memory.

For the past 34 consecutive years, my Thanksgivings have been spent at my father- and mother-in-law’s home along with most of my extended family on that side of the proverbial genealogical tree.  34 years characterized by excessive amounts of turkey, ham, dressing, hot rolls, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, the ubiquitous green bean casserole, pumpkin pies, cherry pies, heavenly hash, and on, and on, and on.

This year, I’ll be spending the day at home by myself.  Now before anyone begins to think that this is about to become a remorseful tale, let me quickly explain that it is not.  My wife has already traveled to her parent’s home where she will be participating in the day as usual and will be representing myself and our sons.

The primary reason for my solo celebration of the day is due to the fact that I’ve recently started a new job which is going to require that I be at work tomorrow morning.  The in-laws live out of state, making a quick commute impossible.  In addition, my two sons now live in Massachusetts where the oldest is employed and the youngest, having recently graduated from college, is doing freelance work while searching for full-time employment.

Obviously, in this economy, we have much to be thankful for today; we just happen to find ourselves in a unique situation which requires us to be thankful in separate locations.

I have to admit that after being a part of 34 consecutive large traditional family-style Thanksgiving Day celebrations, today is going to be unusually quiet and perhaps even a bit of a let down, but I’ll muddle through.  On the way home from work yesterday, I stopped at the local grocery store and laid in some provisions which I believe will allow me to get me through the day.

I have a large supply of buffalo wings which, when you think about it, are very similar to turkey; only smaller.  I picked up a quart of eggnog, which admittedly is more closely associated with Christmas, but has always been a beverage which I can never get enough of.  I’ve also got chips and peanuts in the pantry, and Coke, beer, and pizza in the refrigerator.  Yeah, I think I’ll make it!

If all else fails, there’s also three NFL games on TV.

I hope you and your families, wherever you and they may find themselves, have a happy Thanksgiving Day!

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

