Nectar of the Gods or Cheap Drunk

I work for a small company which recently is experiencing a lot of growth.  This of course is a very good thing in these days of economic and employment uncertainty and I’m very happy with the situation.
430-am
In order to gain some ground against the backlog of work, a number of us were asked to work this past Saturday.  In the hope of getting my part of the work done in time to leave a significant portion of my Saturday open for other activities, I decided to go in early.  Actually, you might say that I went in late on Friday, as I was in the office by 4:30 a.m.

Despite our best efforts, the amount of work that needed to be done kept us busy until late Saturday afternoon.  Since I was going to be tied up for most of the day, my wife decided to go to work on Saturday as well.

I’m sure that you’ll understand that I was really dragging by the time that I got home; as was my spouse.  Neither of us felt like cooking on Saturday evening and we just didn’t have the energy required to crawl back into a car to drive to a restaurant, so I dug a pizza out of the freezer and popped it into the oven for a quick and dirty, if not nutritious, dinner.

As I was exploring around in the refrigerator, I also came across a bottle of beer that my youngest son had purchased over Thanksgiving, but had never opened.  Since he’s living out of state, I decided to appropriate the bottle and put it to immediate use.  His loss was my gain, so to speak.
st bernadus
Now this wasn’t just an ordinary bottle of beer.  First of all, it contained 25.5 ounces, not your ordinary 12 ouncer!  It also was sealed with a cork and wire mesh thingamabob just like you see on champagne bottles.

It was a bottle of St. Bernadus Belgian Abby Ale, which, since there was enough for both my wife and myself, seemed to me to be the perfect beverage to compliment the pizza which was nearing culinary perfection in the oven.

As I was about half way though consuming my portion of the pizza and the very excellent Abby Ale, I couldn’t help but notice that an overwhelming sense of peace and general well-being was beginning to course through my mind and body.  The effects of the long work day just seemed to be draining away with every bite, or perhaps more importantly, every sip.

At one point, I looked over at my wife who was apparently experiencing an equally deep Zen moment and said, “Damn!  I think I’m getting buzzed!”  Such was the sharpness of my mind and verbal eloquence.

As I was meandering back into the kitchen to place the dishes in the dishwasher, I picked up the empty St. Bernadus bottle to learn more about this delightful beverage.  It didn’t take me long to notice the small disclosure on the bottom edge of the label.  It read, “10% ALC./VOL.

Ah ha!

I was well and truly buzzed, but given the other circumstances of the day, finding myself in that condition wasn’t all bad.  In addition, by 8:30 p.m., I was well and pleasantly asleep and enjoying every minute of it.
Smiling Monk
Now I understand why the monk on the label is smiling!

Long live good St. Bernadus!

3 thoughts on “Nectar of the Gods or Cheap Drunk

  1. 10% !! Awesome. My first batch is ready to bottle and is reading 1.017. Is it higher al/vol the lower the gravity?
    Anyway, I buy a few bottles of 22 oz delight every week so I can save the bottles. I must visit St. Bernadus for a bit
    of benediction.

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

