Multi-tasking My Way Through Middle Earth

This past Sunday on our way home from church, my wife mentioned to me that she’d like to go see the movie adaptation of The Hobbit that afternoon.  We’re both J.R.R. Tolkien fans.  When our two sons were just little guys, we team-read The Hobbit and the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy to them.
bilbo-baggins-the-hobbit
I tell you this so that you won’t question my motivations as I explain that I wasn’t all that excited about seeing Bilbo tangle with Gollum on that particular Sunday afternoon.

You see, at 1:00 p.m., the Atlanta Falcons were kicking off against the Seattle Seahawks in one of the NFC division playoff games.  But I also knew that my spouse had been through a lot over the past few months and could really benefit from a little entertainment downtime.

I know that you’re probably asking yourself, “What could have possibly been more entertaining than watching an NFL playoff game? ”  But you’ll just have to trust my reasoning when you learn that I agreed that we should spend the afternoon together in Middle Earth.
gandalf iphone
Understand however, that heading to the local cinema multiplex did not preclude my ability to stay in touch with the gridiron action down at the Georgia Dome.

For I had access to magic that even a wizard of Gandalf’s standing could not imagine: my trusty iPhone, a solid 3G network signal, and the Yahoo Sportacular app.

With just a few deftly executed flicks of my thumbs, I had the app set to notify me of any score changes, the ends of each quarter, and all incursions by either team’s offense into their opponent’s Red Zone.  All with only a brief, noiseless, and totally unobtrusive vibration.  A quick and surreptitious glance at my iPhone was all I would need to remain on top of the pigskin action.
ryan_large_0
Being a natural born multi-tasker and armed with technology rivaling the powers of the One Ring, I had no difficulty in following Thorin Oakenshield and his company of dwarves on their trek toward Erebor and the Lonely Mountain, while at the same time staying in touch with Matt Ryan as he led the Falcons to a last second, come from behind victory over the Seahawks!

What an age We live in!

One thought on “Multi-tasking My Way Through Middle Earth

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

