It’s Time to Let Idol Idle

I’ve not been a big fan of the American Idol television series.  Even when it was being hyped as the hottest of the hot “must see” TV shows, I wasn’t drawn to it.  The best that can be said about the show is that it was imported from Britain where at least a last lingering shred of television programming originality apparently still exists.ID-10049815

The concept of the series seemed to me to be little more than a latter day version of Queen for a Day, the 50’s daytime pseudo-reality show in which the woman, from among three contestants, who could churn out the most heart wrenching sob story would win a shiny new Maytag washing machine and a lifetime supply of Bosco.  For those of you not blessed with having been around in the 50’s and 60’s to witness this spectacle first hand, just “Google” it for more details.

The belief that a television show, in this case American Idol, is going to be able to routinely fast-track anyone to entertainment stardom may be appealing, but the show’s actual success in doing so seems to belie the hype.  Aside from Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood, what other winners have acquired any lasting notoriety, much less Idol-status?  Some of the contestants who have so unceremoniously received the hook from the show’s panel of expert judges seem to have had just as much success in establishing recording careers as have the winners.

Last night, I happened to meander through our family room totally unaware that my spouse was watching American Idol.  I chanced to overhear the evaluation which Nicki Minaj, one of this year’s judges, was in the process of giving to one of the female contestants.
NickiMinajPA250412
I just didn’t find any authenticity in your performance.” she intoned dramatically.

Upon hearing those words, I lost all equilibrium and came very close to careening into the door jamb as I was hastily attempting to exit the room.

I have to ask, is there any reasonable person who would grant even a modicum of credibility to a lecture on the subject of authenticity when it is being delivered by a woman who is wearing:

  1. a platinum blonde wig which looks as if it’s made from polypropylene,
  2. heavily applied day-glo orange eye shadow,
  3. false eye lashes which are longer than the tines on my yard rake, and
  4. finger nails containing more plastic than a Tupperware bowl?

I think not.
ID-10076450
Clearly it’s time to pull the plug on American Idol and find out what the Brits have been watching on their televisions for the past couple of years.

It’s just possible that one of our sharper network executives might thereby be encouraged to import it under an assumed name and release it over here as one of next season’s newest #1, smart, must-see shows.

OM

Images courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net
N
icki Minaj photo from nme.com

9 thoughts on “It’s Time to Let Idol Idle

  1. Hi,
    The article made my laugh:”Clearly it’s time to pull the plug on American Idol and find out what the Brits have been watching on their televisions for the past couple of years…”

    The plug should be pulled for Norwegian Idol too.

    Thor

  2. Authenticity….LOL. I am proud to say I have never see a nanosecond of this production. I am embarrassed to say my girls never miss it. The last decent production to come out of Great Britain was Monty Python!

  3. LOL you put the right photo of Nicki Minaj there! I stopped watching American Idol after Ruben Studdard (I think that’s season 2). It’s worse in my home country Indonesia coz we got two: American Idol with its Nicki Minaj and Indonesian Idol with its Indonesian-singer-who-is-typically-like-Nicki-Minaj

  4. I agree totally with you…I used to watch it when it first came on, I think Season 1 and 2..The judges weren’t too bad…The I think Paula started to give odd comments to performances..Now I think it has all gone to pot…LOL..Although it is funny to watch the first few episodes of it, when people are trying out and the strange costumes they wear…

  5. I have this feeling that judges on those programmes have an array of stock phrases to choose from when it comes to evaluating. Most of them are just long-winded, complicated and pseudo-sophisticated sentences that boil down to… nothing. I mean, how can a live performance not be authentic? I’m not a music expert, but I’d say every performance that’s not on playback is “authentic”.
    In any case, I agree with you.

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

