This Might Be A Good Day to Read A Book

It’s the 4th day of May.

Whether or not you were aware of it, this is a very special day which many people have had circled in red on their calendars and have been waiting for with breathless anticipation.  It seems that May 4th is a day for conviviality and a day for enjoying nature and being outdoors.

No, I’m not talking about May 4th being the day on which the “139th renewal of The Greatest Two Minutes in Sports” will be held.  That is of course a reference to the running of the 2013 Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs in Kentucky.  As an aside, I am in total agreement that two minutes is a very good estimate for just how long most sports fans will remember which horse wins this year’s event, but I digress.

More importantly, May the 4th is now universally recognized as “Star Wars Day.”  So named because it is on this day that you may, with a straight face, greet all of your friends, neighbors, and strangers on the street with the phrase, “May the Fourth be with you!
leaf-no-man-behind_l
I suspect that in many, if not most cases, your overture will be greeted with a blank stare and a hasty retreat by the person being thus greeted.  But no matter, you will have kept the spirit of the day alive!

“But That’s Not All! “

Just when you thought it was safe to go back outdoors after a long winter, be aware that May 4th is also “World Naked Gardening Day.

Sponsored by the American Association for Nude Recreation (who you know better as the AANR), this day is billed as a celebration of weed control, the planting of flowers, and the trimming of hedges without the encumbrance of clothing. Apparently the use of gloves is left to the discretion of each au naturale gardener.

The organizers of the event tell us that “besides being liberating, nude gardening is second only to swimming as an activity that people are most ready to consider doing nude.”  Really?  For the sake of brevity and in order to maintain my PG rating, I think I’ll just let that assessment pass unchallenged.

Unfortunately, here in my neck of the woods, it’s going to be raining all day and the temperatures aren’t expected to rise above 55 degrees F.  Not that it would have made any difference to me if it was going to be sunny and 75.

I’ll be happy to spare my neighbors and innocent passers-by as I celebrate May 4th by maintaining my habitual status as a nudist on strike.

“Aren’t you a little short for a stormtrooper?”  – Princess Leia

OM

Photo credit: JD Hancock Foter.com CC BY

13 thoughts on “This Might Be A Good Day to Read A Book

  1. While I have no problem with nudism, I don’t do gardening period. But today being the first Saturday in May was another very important annual celebration, Free Comic Book Day. Every year on the first Saturday in May, comic shops across the country offer their patons a free comic book from a large selection of specially made Free Comic Book Day titles. They run the gamut from kids comics like Archie and Sonic to superhero books like Superman and the Avengers to independent and more mature titles like The Walking Dead. Good times an as your subject line states. a great day to read a book… for free.

    • I don’t have a problem with nudism either, but recognize that there is a proper time and place for all pursuits. I was an avid comic book reader many years ago, but it’s been a while since I flipped through one. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I’ve never seen a star wars movie. I wish I would have known that not watching star wars such a sin, I’ve gotten some negative feedback on my facebook.

Feel Free to Leave a Comment

